How France or Spain can be seeded at the World Cup finals for Russia 2018

France and Spain both still harbour hopes of being seeded at the World Cup finals in the Dec. 1 group-stage draw. On paper, at least, they are outsiders to do it. The top-seven nations to qualify, based on FIFA’s October World Ranking, will join Russia as seeds. Guaranteed to be seeded (if they qualify) are: Germany and Brazil (already qualified), Portugal and Argentina. This leaves at least three spaces open, and in the September ranking we saw France in eighth and Spain in 11th. Even though France are just outside the top seven, their ranking score will be a maximum of 1,226 points if they beat Belarus to top Group A. Similarly, Spain will be on 1,218 points if they beat Israel in Group G. With the possible results of other nations taken into account, France and Spain are only guaranteed to be 11th and 12th respectively. Therefore, they need other nations to slip up.


For France to be 

seeded, they must win both games and hope at least four of the following happen:


  Argentina fail to qualify
  •  Portugal fail to qualify
  •  Poland fail to beat Montenegro
  •  Switzerland fail to beat Portugal (away)
  •  Chile fail to beat Brazil (away)
  •  Peru not to win at home to Colombia
  •  Wales fail to win against Republic of Ireland


Chile have to go to Brazil, and Switzerland to Portugal. And remember, one of the Swiss or the Portuguese will go into the playoffs, as will one of the South American nations (if they are not eliminated). 

For Spain to be seeded they will require five teams to slip up, which are taken from the above list with the added possibility of France failing to win one of their matches. 







Credit: ESPN 
Edited : Football Highlight Pro
Click to read more:
Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo: Big stars who could miss the World Cup
Juventus to offer ‘priceless’ Dybala a new contract until 2022

About The Author

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *